Quick Visit to Vigan City

And yet another late post.

Since last night was a blast, I wasn’t able to go to work today. I’m having the worst hangover right now. I can’t even remember what happened after the 21 shots. I’m so dead to my boss. Anyway, hindi na mahalaga yun (talaga lang pre?), so I just decided to share to you what happened to me last Saturday after I get back to Manila.

I arrived at around 3:30 PM in Manila. I need to adjust to the time difference once again. As a welcoming party and as well as a early birthday celebration, my Tita, together with my sis, and cousins, Renz and CJ, treated me for some sweets and latte in Le Jardin Cafe in BGC.

IMG_20171118_195423_733

It was one of my favorite place (you know how much I love coffees and sweets).You should try the place. It’s truly remarkable with its French ambiance well kasi French style naman talaga siya hahah. The foods are great, the coffees, I’m telling you, they’re worth to try. The place was tastefully designed, although it was revamped from the original Le Jardin restaurant, the vibe was completely different from before, but they consistently offer the same wonderful experience. The staffs are friendly too. Dito ko din nakilala si Chef Hasset sa Le Jardin kaya naman nalungkot ako ng malaman ko yung balitang pumanaw na din si Kuya Hisham, ang bunso nilang kapatid. They are three brothers who died one after another because of liver cancer. Naawa ako sa mom nila because I know, nothing is more painful for a mother than witnessing all your three sons dying one by one before you. I pray for their souls and they may find peace.

So ayun medyo napahaba ang kwento ko, i-fast forward na natin kung bakit ako napunta sa Vigan. It was Kuya Renz’ idea to bring me there. Aside from Arjay, him and his brother, CJ are my bestfriends. It was a treat from him na dalin ako sa Vigan. Although I’ve been there for like ten thousand times, I still love going there. Every year, before my dad died, we always visit Vigan on my birthday because we both love the place but after he died in 2013, it was 11 days before my birthday, I stopped going there. Ngayon gusto ni Kuya Renz na balikan namin yun for my 21st birthday. He managed to rent for a private airplane, mayaman kasi ‘tong hinayupak na ‘to e hahaha. All three of us, Me, him and CJ went for a short visit to Vigan City.

It was a walk through history in Calle Crisologo, Vigan City, not only because of the Spanish era architectural design of the houses, but my memories with my dad here.

IMG_20171119_004033_300

My dad will always drink a beer here on my birthdays, only him because I was still underage during those times, he died before I turned 18. This time, on my 21st birthday, it’s my turn to drink a beer for him. This San Miguel Apple Beer is for you dad, I know you prefer red horse more, but please understand. I’m kinda tired from all these flights and travel shizz hahaha!

By the way guys, when you hear the city, Vigan, what comes to your mind? I know that the first thing that comes to your mind is its famed street, lined up of old architectural structures built during the Spanish era. Fun fact, Calle Crisologo is named after a prominent son of Ilocos, Mena Pecson Crisologo, this street is famous for being preserved to retain its Spanish colonial architecture legacy that makes it a good tourist spot here in the Philippines. So to all my fellow travel-addict wanderlust from other countries, visit Vigan City, Philippines.

If ever visit Calle Crisologo, what you can mostly see are souvenir shops, cafes, bars and hotels which are previously ancestral homes. Here is where you can find Vigan’s best products, ranging from food to hand-woven items. What completes the experience is the horse carrriages or what we call, “calesa“. From then and now, it was used as transportation to get from one place to another. You can hire for a calesa tour for your own to see the other famous attractions around the city.

IMG_20171119_204531_080

Since it has a scenic background of bricked walls, perfect spot talaga ang lugar to take photos. Walang wala talagan sinabi ang Calle Malibay ahahahah! Kidding aside, these houses have survived many calamities because its architectural style was not built for splendor alone, but for survival. The street is undeniably more beautiful at night as the cobblestone streets starts to brightened up by aesthetic lamps, perfect for those who want to stay the night (like what we did).

It would be best to visit the place during the early morning or by late afternoon so it’s not too humid. We just stayed until 9 AM in the morning the next day, Sunday because we need to get back to Manila for my birthday celebration. Our visit in Vigan City was quick and yet, it was memorable. I never thought that I would be visiting this place again. Maybe it was my dad’s doing, you think?

If you happen find the urge to visit, Vigan, I promise you, it will be worth it. Have a great historical tour at Vigan City!

 

Leave a comment